Carter's Corner: UF Heisman Winners Back Trask

Thursday, December 24, 2020

Carter’s Corner: UF Heisman Winners Back Trask

Scott Carter / Senior Writer

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Kyle Trask is in the running to become the fourth University of Florida player to win the Heisman Trophy.

Like Trask, the previous three winners — each represented by a bronze statue outside Ben Hill Griffin Stadium — starred at quarterback for the Gators.

On Thursday night, Trask was named one of the finalists for the 2020 Heisman, keeping his bid alive to join Steve Spurrier (1966), Danny Wuerffel (1996) and Tim Tebow (2007) as the only players in school history to win college football’s most coveted individual award. Alabama quarterback Mac Jones, Alabama receiver DeVonta Smith and Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence are the three other finalists.

In a video released by UF football program shortly after the finalists were announced on ESPN, the three previous Gators Heisman winners turned into narrators, offering their support of Trask.

“You broke our records,” Wuerffel said.

“Conjured memories of when we wore the Orange & Blue,” Spurrier added.

“Won the love of Gator Nation with your humility and passion,” said Tebow.

The three Heisman winners continue from there as highlights of Trask, who has thrown for 4,125

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top