Dodgers' 11-run first inning sets MLB postseason record

7:03 PM ET

ARLINGTON, Texas — The Los Angeles Dodgers were hoping to ride whatever momentum they built in Tuesday’s ninth inning into Game 3, and they wound up doing so in unprecedented fashion.

The Dodgers, losers of the first two games of this best-of-seven National League Championship Series, scored 11 runs in Wednesday’s first inning, setting a postseason record.

The 11 runs topped 10-run innings amassed by four other teams — the 2019 St. Louis Cardinals, 2002 Los Angeles Angels, 1968 Detroit Tigers and 1929 Philadelphia A’s — for the most in any inning in postseason history.

Year, Series Team Runs Inn. 2020 NLCS Gm 3 Dodgers 11 1st 2019 NLDS Gm 5 Cardinals 10 1st 2002 ALCS Gm 5 Angels 10 7th 1968 WS Gm 6 Tigers 10 3rd 1929 WS Gm 4 Athletics 10 7th — ESPN Stats & Information

The Cardinals were the only other team to score their runs in the first, doing so in Game 5 of last year’s NL Division Series, which ended the Braves’ season. The Dodgers tied those Cardinals for another postseason record by sending 14 men to bat in the first inning Wednesday.

Corey Seager got the Dodgers on

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top