Florida House leadership reelected in Pinellas County

In Pinellas County, two key members of Florida House leadership both saw easy reelections, keeping with expectations amid a wave of surprising elections.

As we try to navigate the spew of results from Election Day, here’s some important races you may have missed:

Chris Sprowls, State House District 65

Rep. Sprowls, who was officially named Speaker-designate in September 2019, was reelected Tuesday night in a sweeping margin. The incumbent Republican earned 61.15% of the vote, while Democratic opponent Kelly Johnson only mustered 38.85%.

Sprowls will officially take the top leadership role in the House for the 2021 Session.

The Speaker-designate released two videos early Wednesday welcoming new and returning members to the Florida House, and mentioned that they will soon learn more details on COVID-19 protocol and new committee structure.

House District 65 covers the area of north Pinellas County, including the city of Clearwater.

Ben Diamond, State House District 68

Democratic incumbent Diamond, who has held HD 68 since 2016, also saw a reasonably easy victory.

Diamond won with 53.84% of the vote, while his Republican challenger Matt Tito, who received 46.16%.

Diamond was poised for easy reelection in

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top