Gov. DeSantis taps three for St. Johns River Water Management District board

Gov. Ron DeSantis appointed three people Friday to serve on the St. Johns River Water Management District Governing Board.

Doug Bournique, Jon “Chris” Peterson Jr. and Cole Oliver compose the latest appointments to the district that spans much of Florida’s Atlantic coast watersheds.

Bournique is the executive vice president of the Indian River Citrus League and previously served on the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Fruits and Vegetables. He also served on the Federal Reserve Bank’s Agriculture Advisory Council.

The Vero Beach resident received his bachelor’s degree in geology from Whittier College and his master’s degree in environmental protection from Florida Atlantic University.

Peterson serves on the advisory board for the University of Florida’s Biological Field Station at Cedar Key. The Winter Park resident earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Florida.

He is also president of Hell’s Bay Marine Inc., a shallow-water skiff boat manufacturer that received the Conservation Award for Industry by the International Game Fish Association in 2010. Previously, he was president of Heath-Peterson Construction Corporation.

Oliver, of Merritt Island, is an attorney and partner with Rossway Swan. He is the East Coast Zoological Society’s

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top