How To Get A Florida Marijuana Card 2018 – FLDispensaries.com
How to Get Medical Marijuana Cards in Florida
The Complete 2018 Guide
A medical card is required to get medical cannabis in FL from a licensed MMTC (Medical Marijuana Treatment Center). As a resident of the state, the 2018 process on how to get a medical marijuana card in Florida is as follows:
The Patient May Be Entered Into The Florida Office of Medical Marijuana Use Registry If:
- The Patient is diagnosed with an approved qualifying medical condition by a doctor or physician that is certified in Florida to determine if medical marijuana is an appropriate treatment.
- Patients and/or their Caregivers will then be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by their Certified Physician.
- Once you have been entered into the Registry, your physician will provide you with your Patient ID Number. You will need this to apply for your required Registry Identification Card.
How Much Does a Florida Medical Card Cost To Get From The State?
- $75 – The Department accepts applications from patients and legal representatives. Patients must be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by a qualified physician to receive a card. Applications may be submitted online through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry, or mailed to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
How much does a Recommending Marijuana Doctor in Florida Cost?
- The Average Cost to visit a Certified Ordering Doctor is $175-$250 for the initial visit and $75 – $150 for the follow up visit. Some doctors are offering a monthly subscription service between $40 – $90 monthly. This can be much more costly in the long run.
How often do I have to see my Doctor?
- Your Doctor can write an order for 70 days of cannabis with 3 refills. Many Doctors will refill without an in person visit. Once the 3 refills have been completed (210 days) you will need an in office visit with your Doctor for another renewal.
Other Important Information on the FL Medical Marijuana License Process
What are the Debilitating Conditions Required to Receive Medical Marijuana in Florida?
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those above
- A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification
- Chronic nonmalignant pain caused by a qualifying medical condition or that originates from a qualifying medical condition and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition.
How Long Is a Florida Marijuana Card Good?
- 1 Year
My Florida Medical Marijuana Card has Expired. How to get a Renewal?
- To maintain an active Medical Maijuana Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date.
Once I have my Florida MMJ card, where can I buy marijuana?
- Once your application is approved and you receive your legal marijuana card, you or a legal representative of you will be able to buy cannabis products from a licensed medical marijuana treatment center (MMTC) in the state of Florida.
Once I have my FL MMJ card, can I grow my own marijuana?
- No. Florida law only allows the licensed dispensing organizations to grow, process and dispense marijuana. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember marijuana is illegal under federal law.
What do I need to do if I change my address or other information changes?
- Requests to replace a lost or stolen card will require the cardholder to submit a Change, Replacement or Surrender Request Form, along with a copy of his or her Florida driver’s license or identification card and a $15 replacement fee.
Where can I find a marijuana doctor near me in FL?
Can I Smoke Weed Once Qualified?
- No, at this time Florida prohibits smoking of medical marijuana. However, John Morgan of the law firm Morgan & Morgan has filed a suite to allow for patients to be able to smoke their medicine.
Can I Take My Medical Marijuana to a Different State?
- No. According to current laws patients who obtain a medical card should use medical marijuana in Florida only. Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
Who Can Use Medical Marijuana?
- Florida law has several requirements for patients to be eligible to receive low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis.
- A patient must have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition as stated above
- A patient must be a Florida resident.
- If under the age of 18, a patient must have a second physician agree to the use of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis in order to obtain an order from a qualified physician.
- An ordering physician must determine the risks of using low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis are reasonable in light of the benefit to the patient.
- A patient must be registered with the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by their ordering physician.
I see CBD Oils for sale on commercials, the internet and signs at head shops around town, is this CBD Oil legal in Florida?
- Hemp derived CBD oil is legal, however to obtain Cannabis derived CBD oil, you will need to be entered into the registry by a qualified ordering physician.
Will CBD, or cannabidiol oil get me high?
- No. CBD is a product that has no THC if derived from hemp and very little if derived from cannabis. THC is the chemical compound that creates the “high”. CBD products are available for patients that need a for non-euphoric treatment.
Are THC Infused edibles allowed in Florida?
- Edibles are currently not allowed until The Florida Department Of Health establishes rules regarding edibles. Section 381.986 Florida Statutes directs the department to create rules for edible products.
Can I use Medical Marijuana Anywhere?
- Similar to all states Florida medical cannabis card holders have to be responsible. It is important to remember that when smoking in public, it may be assumed that you are using it for recreational use, which is illegal on a Federal Level. Florida medical marijuana card holders are advised to consume their medicine responsibly, in the safety of their home or in a private residence.
I Recently Read An Article That Recreational Weed Was Legal In Florida, Is This True?
- No. Recreational Marijuana Is NOT LEGAL in Florida – The Article was Fake News.
How Much Should I consume?
- You should always consult with a Florida marijuana certified physician before using and that doctor will set the course of treatment.
Get Started Now
Patient Registration Form
We are now connecting potential MMJ patients with certified recommending doctors throughout Florida every day. Register below and we will have a medical marijuana doctors clinic near you reach out to answer any questions & schedule an appointment.
Florida Medical Marijuana Patient Registration