Voice of the Gators Mick Hubert. [Photo courtesy of UAA]

Special to Gatorsports.com

Voice of the Gators Mick Hubert is one of seven distinguished honorees who will make up the 2018 class elected to the Florida Sports Hall of Fame.

Other members of the class include Justin Gatlin (track & field), Roy Jones, Jr. (boxing), Jerry Pate (golf), Gary Sheffield (baseball), Michelle Snow (basketball) and Pete Pihos (football).

“I was totally shocked when Wayne Hogan called me with the news and it was one of the few times this sportscaster was speechless,” Hubert said. “Glory to God! It is the highest professional honor I have ever received. I am very humbled to join not only the other Gators but everyone else who has been previously elected.”

A graduate of Illinois State University in 1976, Hubert has been the primary radio play-by-play announcer and TV host for the Florida Gators since 1989. Prior to his arrival in Gainesville, he was the Sports Director at WHIO-TV in Dayton, Ohio, and did play-by-play for Bradley University athletics.

In addition, Hubert did play-by-play of NCAA men’s basketball tournament games for ESPN from 1986 to 1990.

Hubert, who’s set to call his 30th season of Florida Gator football and basketball in 2018-19, became the voice of the Gators in 1989, succeeding Orlando Magic and FOX Sports Florida play-by-play announcer David Steele. In his career, Hubert has called play by play for three national championship football games, two national championship basketball games and a 2017 NCAA Baseball Championship.

Hubert was recently honored as the 2017 Florida Sportscaster of the Year.

In its 57th year of honoring the state’s brightest sports figures, the Florida Sports Hall of Fame continues its mission to honor Florida’s vast sports heritage by taking the inspiring stories of its 253 current members