Michael Grant latest House Majority Leader to hail from Southwest Florida

There’s a joke in some parts of Southwest Florida that the region’s chief exports are sea shells and Majority Leaders. Rep. Michael Grant, a Port Charlotte Republican, likes to think the latter means more.

“At least we keep returning to the community,” the incoming House Majority Leader said. “The sea shell someone just puts on their shelf somewhere.”

When the Florida House comes together for its organizational session, Grant will be part of Speaker Chris Sprowls’ leadership team after serving two years as Majority Whip and two as a Deputy Whip. He follows in the footsteps of Dane Eagle, a Cape Coral Republican recently tapped for executive director of the Department of Economic Opportunity. Eagle followed Estero Republican Ray Rodrigues in the role, who just won election to the Florida Senate.

Notably, during Eagle’s time, Naples Republican Kathleen Passimodo served as Majority Leader in the Senate, and Fort Myers Republican Lizbeth Benacquisto served as Senate Majority during Rodrigues’ tenure. Passidomo, likely Senate President in 2022, will serve as Rules Committee chair in the coming Session, but no Senate Majority Leader has been announced.

Grant feels like the long-line of leadership from the region helped Southwest Florida all around. “For someone

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top