Moon Named Semifinalist for William V. Campbell Trophy

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Florida’s Jeremiah Moon was announced as a semifinalist for the 2020 William V. Campbell Trophy on Thursday, an award that is annually bestowed by the National Football Foundation to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.
The redshirt-senior linebacker is majoring in telecommunication and has been named to the Southeastern Conference’s Academic Honor Roll twice. Moon has also logged 13.5 hours of community service working with Habitat for Humanity and Night to Shine.
Moon has played in 34 games, starting in 17, for the Gators throughout his time in Gainesville. The Hoover, Ala. native has made 87 tackles with five sacks and was named SEC Defensive Player of the Week in 2019 against Towson.
Moon would join Brad Culpepper (1991), Danny Wuerffel (1996) and Tim Tebow (2009) as past Florida student-athletes to win the award. The most recent winner of the award was Oregon’s Justin Herbert.
The William V. Campbell Trophy
Celebrating its 31st year, the award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. The NFF will announce 12-to-14 finalists in November, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2020

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top