M's Lewis named top AL rookie in unanimous vote

6:57 PM ET

ESPN News Services

Seattle Mariners center fielder Kyle Lewis is the unanimous winner of the American League Rookie of the Year award.

The 25-year-old Lewis was one of baseball’s breakout stars during the pandemic-shortened season, batting .262 with 11 homers and 28 RBIs in 58 games. He led big league rookies with 37 runs, 90 total bases and a .364 on-base percentage.

Lewis also made a couple of memorable plays in center, robbing Oakland‘s Ramon Laureano of a grand slam on Sept. 14. He is the fourth player to win the award for Seattle, joining Alvin Davis in 1984, Kazuhiro Sasaki in 2000 and Ichiro Suzuki in 2001.

Lewis is also the 12th AL Rookie of the Year winner by unanimous vote

Chicago White Sox center fielder Luis Robert finished second in voting, followed by Houston Astros right-hander Cristian Javier.

Player 1st 2nd 3rd Points Kyle Lewis, Mariners 30 — — 150 Luis Robert, White Sox — 27 2 83 Cristian Javier, Astros — — 11 11 Sean Murphy, Athletics — 1 4 7 Willi Castro, Tigers — 1 4 7 James Karinchak, Indians — — 5 5 Jared Walsh, Angels

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top