Perry Thurston chosen as 2020-21 chair for Broward legislative delegation as body tussles over vice chair

Sen. Perry Thurston of Senate District 33 is set to serve as the 2020-21 chair for the Broward County legislative delegation.

Delegation members made their selection at a Thursday evening meeting. That meeting also featured some drama regarding who would serve as Thurston’s vice chair, and would thus be favored to lead the delegation next year.

The decision was originally scheduled for Monday, but the delegation delayed that meeting due to flooding from Tropical Storm Eta.

Thurston won the SD 33 seat in 2016. He earned reelection in August after handily winning the Democratic primary. Thurston faced no opposition in this year’s General Election.

The incoming chair also served eight years in the House — including two years as the House Democratic Leader. He takes over the chair position from Rep. Shevrin Jones, who himself won a Senate seat in last week’s election.

Thurston previously served as the delegation’s vice chair under Jones.

The vote to succeed Thurston prompted some tension among the delegation. Democratic Rep. Joe Geller nominated Rep. Michael Gottlieb, a fellow Democrat, to serve as the delegation’s vice chair for the heavily Democratic delegation. Just three Republicans are present among the 19-member delegation.

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top