Rays' Cash wins AL Manager of the Year award

6:50 PM ET

Tampa Bay Rays manager Kevin Cash was named American League Manager of the Year on Tuesday, receiving 22 of the 30 first-place votes.

Cash guided the Rays to a division title as well as the AL’s best regular-season record at 40-20. The Rays’ .667 win percentage in 2020 was by far the best in franchise history.

Manager 1st 2nd 3rd Total Kevin Cash, Rays 22 5 1 126 Rick Renteria, White Sox 5 9 9 61 Charlie Montoyo, Blue Jays 2 10 7 47 Bob Melvin, Athletics 1 3 8 22 Rocco Baldelli, Twins — 3 4 13 Dusty Baker, Astros — — 1 1

Tampa Bay overcame a rash of pitching injuries to clinch the AL pennant before losing in six games to the Los Angeles Dodgers in the World Series.

Cash became the second manager in Rays history to win the AL Manager of the Year award, joining Joe Maddon, who won the award in 2008 and 2011. Cash, 42, took over as manager of the team in 2015.

Rick Renteria of the White Sox finished second while Charlie Montoyo of the Blue Jays finished third.

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top