The Senate Democratic Caucus met Monday to select Jacksonville’s Audrey Gibson as its 2018-20 Leader.

Members also nominated Tallahassee’s Bill Montford as the Leader pro tempore.

Gibson told the caucus she considers “the role more as a bridge builder, for purposes so much larger.”

She is now only the third woman to serve in the position, and the second African American woman to do so, after Arthenia Joyner in 2014-16.

The caucus is growing with Janet Cruz‘s win after two recounts in Senate District 18.

That’s combined with earlier wins by Lori Berman and Jason Pizzo of South Florida.

Absent from the ceremony, however, was any drama over Gary Farmer being tapped early as Gibson’s successor.

The Lighthouse Point Democrat created a ruckus earlier this year at what was supposed to be a routine vote for the next Democratic leaders.

As Peter Schorsch previously reported, “an anti-Farmer movement began to develop, members began publicly voicing their disapproval.

“At that point, Randolph Bracy unexpectedly nominated Lauren Book. After she accepted the nomination, that’s when things got heated. In an effort to calm down and unify the caucus, Oscar Braynon pulled both Farmer and Book into a private meeting.

“… During the negotiations

Read More Here...

Join Us At The FMCC in Orlando

FMCC Orlando

Florida Dispensaries
Medical Marijuana Doctor's & Care Clinics
Patient Registration Form
Sign up to receive updates & news regarding the Florida Marijuana Program
Daze Off Insiders Club
Florida Medical Marijuana, Sports, Politics, & Fishing News Source