Stricklin Tabbed Athletic Director of the Year

Since Stricklin was hired at Florida in the fall of 2016, 587 student-athletes have graduated with 246 of those graduates winning a national or conference championship during their time in Gainesville. 

The 2020 Athletic Director of the Year is the University of Florida’s Scott Stricklin. The honor was given at the annual Sports Business Award show, which was held virtually Wednesday evening.

Stricklin was one of five finalists for the award, along with Boise State’s Curt Apsey, Texas Tech’s Kirby Hocutt, Oregon’s Rob Mullens and Baylor’s Mack Rhoades. The 2020 nominees and winners are being recognized for the period of March 1, 2019 through February 28, 2020. 

During that time period, the Gators captured six conference championships and finished third in the 2018-19 Learfield IMG College Directors Cup.

“I can’t imagine a more deserving recipient of this award than Scott Stricklin,” said UF President Kent Fuchs. “He is an exceptional athletic director who has guided UF’s student-athletes to new heights athletically and academically, significantly strengthened our athletic program and is proving remarkably adept at leading the Gators in overcoming all the difficult challenges of COVID.”
Stricklin and his athletic department staff have partnered with UF Health, campus, community and SEC leadership to navigate the

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top