Trask Named Finalist for the Heisman Trophy

Trask becomes the fifth Heisman finalist in Gators history following record-breaking season

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Finalists for the 2020 Heisman Trophy were announced tonight, and Florida’s Kyle Trask was among the four invitees for the 86th annual Heisman Trophy Ceremony Presented by Nissan, set for Jan. 5 at 7 p.m. with ESPN providing television coverage.

The Heisman Trophy first established a group of finalists in 1982, making Trask the fifth finalist in Gators history, joining Emmitt Smith (1988), Danny Wuerffel (1995, 1996), Rex Grossman (2001), and Tim Tebow (2007, 2008, 2009). Florida’s previous three winners are quarterbacks Steve Spurrier (1966), Wuerffel (1996), and Tebow (2007).
“It is a true honor to be named a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. It just feels surreal to join the list of Gator Greats who have been named finalists for this trophy in the past,” Trask said. “I am so thankful to be in this position and without the help of my teammates, coaches and family, none of this would be possible.”
According to the Heisman Trophy’s official website, the number of finalists for the award vary from year to year, with the only requirement being a minimum of three finalists. The site goes on to note,

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top