Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray and the revival of QB1 wearing No.1

7:00 AM ET

DAVIE, Fla. — For about 30 years, Warren Moon was the only NFL quarterback known for wearing the No. 1, and he did right by it, making the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Then Cam Newton revived its popularity in 2011, when he was the No. 1 overall pick by the Carolina Panthers.

Now, there’s a new wave of No. 1s that features Miami Dolphins rookie Tua Tagovailoa and the Arizona CardinalsKyler Murray, who face off Sunday at State Farm Stadium (4:25 p.m. ET, CBS). It will be the first NFL game in the Super Bowl era in which both starting quarterbacks wear No. 1.

2 Related

Tagovailoa, Murray and Newton are the only quarterbacks on an active NFL roster to wear No. 1. On the surface, this appears to be a numerical oddity. But in reality, it highlights the evolution of wearing No. 1.

Moon, who first wore No. 1 in the CFL for six seasons (1978-1983) and then throughout his 17 years in the NFL (1984-2000), was the first NFL quarterback to wear No. 1, a number previously worn primarily by specialists.

Maybe it was the feeling that it was an “I”

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Scroll to Top